RSS Feed

Have Weekender, Will Travel

We’ve always known that the Meatbagz Weekender was a super sweet bag and that it’d be perfect for a weekend away (thus the name), but this was the first time we’ve really been able to test it out in the real world for ourselves. That is if you consider Times Square the “real” world, of course.Yep, that’s right: this weekend Kate left the quiet life of upstate NY and headed straight into the hustle and bustle of NYC, husband and kids in tow. And let it be known, if a bag packed with clothes, stuffed animals, and enough stuff to keep two kids distracted for a three and a half hour car ride can be hauled comfortably around while keeping a four year old at your side through Times Square, we consider that a serious WIN.

So, here’s the official run down:

  • I was super appreciative of the heavy duty strap. I was wearing it crosswise over my body, and while I held the handles to take some of the weight off my shoulders, I could easily just wear it-very useful when I needed two hands to keep my son from tripping on curbs, since he was too busy looking up at the skyscrapers to pay attention to where he was walking.
  • The two outer pockets were CRAZY handy….and secure enough with the heavy duty velcro and snap closures so I had no concerns about losing anything out of them, either in the car or while pushing through the crowds.
  • Can you say roomy? I not only packed all of my clothes and toiletries, I also had the kids’ pajamas, stuffed animals (and let the record show that they do not pack light in the stuffed animal department), giant water bottle, and an extra set of shoes in there. And I could have crammed more in there if I had needed to. BAM!
  • My husband was dragging our rolling suitcase behind him while he held our daughter’s hand, and he kept looking back at me wistfully. Being able to carry the bag as opposed to pulling it over crowded sidewalks was a huge plus. Maneuvering was a snap comparatively.
  • As a country bumpkin, I am always well aware of my complete lack of “city” style. I don’t wear leggings or high heels, my hair is not done, and make up? Oh, fine. I’ll put on some mascara. But I have to admit, even though I was obviously a tourist in my beat up sneaks and not-so-skin-tight jeans, I felt downright fashionable with my Meatbagz. The weekender was cool and unique (and way better than all those Louis Vuitton bags everyone else was sporting), and let’s face it-you KNOW all those city chicks were staring at my golden dragonfly with total envy.
  • I’ve always loved the heavy duty zipper just for aesthetic purposes, but it turns out the darn thing functions too! By the time we were ready to leave, the bag had souvenirs up the wazoo, and while I had my doubts about getting the darn thing closed, that zipper held everything safe and sound. My husband, upon seeing me finish packing up, shook his head and said “I have to admit, this is a pretty awesome weekend bag.” So there you have it, folks, high praise indeed!

 

 

About meatbagz totes

Mackenzie is an award winning pie maker, a fast driver, and a screen printing mastermind. Kate is a designer, occasional neat freak, and tea drinking madwoman. They both believe in the power of good karma, air banding as a valid form of exercise, and that getting your hands dirty is a good way to keep your soul clean. Together they make up Team Meatbagz.

2 responses »

  1. I LOVE my weekender bag!! I’ve used mine soo many times for overnight stays or just random transportation to and fro of various junk.. But I used it this past weekend for my Memorial Day Beach trip as a beach/pool bag and it worked awesome! And the awesome side pockets with the velcro? PERFECT for keeping things protected from the sand! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

