RSS Feed

Thursday Shout Out!

Today’s Thursday Shout Out is all about the lovely Monique of greenviewlane. Her shop is chock full of absolutely gorgeous felt, leather, and fabric flowers, not to mention the coziest cowls you’ve ever seen. Would they be perfect presents for the fashionista (big OR small) in your life? Absolutely…if you can somehow manage not to keep them for yourself. Seriously-try and pick just one. I dare you. Pretty sure it can’t be done.

First of all, your shop name. Where did it come from?

My shop name is actually the street we live on here in Portland. I thought it seems appropriate since the reason I keep trying to sell online is to stay home here on Greenview Lane with my kids. It was a direct tie to what the importance of the shop was.

If you had to describe yourself and your art in three words, what would they be?

Simple, scattered, and hopeful.

How long have you been creating and how did you get started in the first place?

I have been creating ever since I was a kid. I hated school so I used to play sick all the time and raid my Mom’s sewing closet. Boy was she mad! I liked to sew, paint, bead, etc. but never took any of it seriously until I had to rethink my college major due to some medical problems. One semester of art and I was hooked. I have never looked back.

Your designs are so much fun…Where do you get your inspiration from?

I actually was doing a small project for my daughter’s room. I was making these great rice paper flowers and then using varnish to make them look like preserved roses. It was tedious and somewhat boring. Out of boredom, I picked up some remnant felt on my end table and that was it. Felt Flowers! Who knew?

You obviously have a wonderful eye for accents and accessories…what do you think is a must have for crafts or fashion accessories this season?

Well not to sound obvious, but flowers. The look is definitely retro with the great flower brooches, fascinators and shoe clips of post-war. I love the look that is here and I think that it definitely is one that has been steamrolled into popularity by the current handmade movement.

What is your favorite way to use your beautiful flowers?

My favorite way to use them is in paintings. I really like the three dimensional element.
Do you sell your creations anywhere other than etsy?

I have tried others but have not either been happy with the experience or it did not go well. I really like Etsy and can say that the only thing I wish the would change is showcase only my product:)


All right, ‘fess up-what do you think is a must have for everyone’s holiday shopping?

The plum cowl with the angora flower.

 

Thank you so much, Monique, for taking the time to answer our questions!

About meatbagz totes

Mackenzie is an award winning pie maker, a fast driver, and a screen printing mastermind. Kate is a designer, occasional neat freak, and tea drinking madwoman. They both believe in the power of good karma, air banding as a valid form of exercise, and that getting your hands dirty is a good way to keep your soul clean. Together they make up Team Meatbagz.

Leave a Reply

