RSS Feed

Thursday Shout Out!

It’s time for another Thursday Shout Out, folks! This week we’re featuring the lovely Lana from owenlana. This shop is the place for inexpensive (but still totally unique) stocking stuffers and gifts for the hard to buy for lady in your life. Teachers, day care providers, even your mail lady will love an adorable gift from this one of a kind shop. But enough of us blathering on, we’ll let Lana do the talking!

First of all, we have to ask-your shop name. Where did it come from?

Owenlana: We got our name from myself (Lana) and my son Owen who is 7 (he’s amazing!!!).

If you had to describe yourself and your art in three words, what would they be?

My jewelery in 3 words: Quirky, fun and cute…oh, and the same goes for myself!

How long have you been creating and how did you get started in the first place?

I have been making jewelery now for a around 4 yrs. I returned to my homeland, Scotland, after having lived in London.

In London I grew increasingly fed up working in an office environment, and on my return to Scotland I discovered my more creative side. No looking back now, I love it!!

Your designs are unique, vintage-y, and fun…Where do you get your inspiration from?

I love all things vintage and vintage inspired. I always have done, and Alice in Wonderland is my favorite. I find the John Tenniel images just so beautiful I could gaze at them forever!!

Do you sell your goodies anywhere other than etsy?

Other than etsy I like to do the occasional craft fair, and just now my jewelery is on display at the Peter Potter gallery in Edinburgh, Scotland. I am really proud of this.

If you had to pick a favorite piece, which would it be (and why, to complete the grade school feeling of the question)?

My favorite piece of jewelery just now is my little chair necklace, although I don’t think it’s going hang around etsy for long either lots of hearts!!

All right, ‘fess up-other than something from your own shop, what do you think is a must have for everyone’s holiday shopping?

Must haves for xmas: “Peace and love to mankind”… Oh, and lots and lots of jewelery!! And some snuggly slippers.

Anything else you think our readers might want/need to know about you and your work? Feel free to share!

I have a love just now for sea glass. I spend a lot of time on many of Scotland’s beautiful beaches and have a huge collection of beautiful sea glass (sometimes referred to as mermaids tears). Also pottery… I have been wire-wrapping some pieces and hope to add these to my shop very soon. Also to arrive very soon, music box pendants, can’t wait to get started with those! x

 

Thanks, Lana, for taking the time to answer our questions, and readers…take a couple of minutes to check out Owenlana and start knocking some of those names off your shopping list!

About meatbagz totes

Mackenzie is an award winning pie maker, a fast driver, and a screen printing mastermind. Kate is a designer, occasional neat freak, and tea drinking madwoman. They both believe in the power of good karma, air banding as a valid form of exercise, and that getting your hands dirty is a good way to keep your soul clean. Together they make up Team Meatbagz.

Leave a Reply

