RSS Feed

Thursday Shout Out!

With the holidays fast approaching we’re going to try to to spend some Thursdays offering up non-Meatbagz options for you faithful readers and shoppers out there. The first featured artist is none other than Bethany Warner, a dear friend and all around awesome gal. Sure, we happen to know her personally, but even if we didn’t we’d be all over her shop, Malamoose Beadery.

Bethany was kind enough to answer some of our questions and give us some insight into her work and her process, so please grab a cup of tea, sit back, and get to know the awesomeness of the lady behind Malamoose!

First of all, we have to ask-your shop name. Where did it come from?

My shop’s name is Malamoose Beadery. I’m not sure how I came up with this name but I’m pretty sure it has something to do with my love of moose and their habitat. The love for this strange creature has come from family vacations to Canada and seeing these large mammals eating lilies in the water while canoeing, or hiking the long trails and being a little scared but extremely fascinated. MALA on the other hand means “small” in Bosnian so it’s kind of saying “small moose” and that could be who I am as a person.

How long have you been creating and how did you get started in the first place?

Malamoose Beadery was opened in 2008 however I’ve been creating beaded jewelry long before then. I think it all started when my mother took up this hobby and went overboard on the bead buying. She took me to my first bead shop and I was amazed with the colors and textures that each and every time I go I’m filled with joy and creativity.

Your designs are always so awesometown…Where do you get your inspiration from?

Most of my inspiration comes from the colors of nature and being outdoors. As you can see most of my creations are earth tones with a pop of color here and there.

Do you sell your goodies anywhere other than etsy?

You can find my OOAK accessories at :
HairFX a salon located on Stratton Road, Rutland, VT 05701 for earrings and watches

Willeys Store, Inc., a general store located in the Northeast Kingdom in Greensboro, VT 05841

If you had to pick a favorite piece, which would it be (and, to complete the grade school feeling of the question, why,)?

I absolutely adore the simple leather bracelets with a wire wrapped bead. These are so light in weight that they are easy to pile on and look amazing with other bangle bracelets. Plus they are remnant leather from other projects so I waste just about nothing.

All right, ‘fess up-other than something from Malamoose Beadery, what do you think is a must have for everyone’s holiday shopping?

Well, an awesome graphic tee is always a plus! New Duds from Vermont is one of my favorite shops on Etsy that has a little of this and that. Great for holiday shopping!

Anything else you think our readers might want/need to know about you and your work? Feel free to share!

Living in the NEK in a remote location has allowed me to read much more than before. Currently I’ve been reading The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series and I just found out that they have made them into movies.
I enjoy making leather watches because using remnant scraps allows for no two watches to ever look alike. It’s awesome how the leather tells a story with its own worn in markings, different colorations, and just plain old good use. Plus you can say you have a one of a kind by Malamoose Beadery.

(all images copyright Bethany Warner)

About meatbagz totes

Mackenzie is an award winning pie maker, a fast driver, and a screen printing mastermind. Kate is a designer, occasional neat freak, and tea drinking madwoman. They both believe in the power of good karma, air banding as a valid form of exercise, and that getting your hands dirty is a good way to keep your soul clean. Together they make up Team Meatbagz.

Leave a Reply

